Salads / Vegetarian

A Quick Summer Salad

Grilling season is a great time to experiment with different types of salads.  A lot of times, too much focus goes into the meat, and it can be easy to forget about getting a wide range of veggies in your diet.  While beans, potato dishes, chips, and pasta salads are great side dishes, it can put you on starch overload.  Grilling veggies is a great alternative, and making a veggie salad is another route you can take.  I tend to whip these kinds of dishes up while my husband is out doing the grilling.

There really is no specific amounts or rules to a salad of this sort.  It’s just a matter of chopping up what you have in the fridge and making it taste good.

Here’s what I put in mine… cucumber, grape tomatoes, rainbow carrots (red and yellow from Trader Joe’s…super tasty!),  and green onion.

WP_20140526_016You could also add some fresh garlic, but I didn’t have any, so I added garlic powder.  Then I added some freshly grated Pecorino Romano cheese…(you could use Parmesan instead).WP_20140526_017Then add whatever other seasonings you might like….you could add fresh or dried basil, fresh mint or parsley, Herbs de Provence…whatever you are in the mood for.  Then drizzle it with some extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar (or vinegar of choice).  Then mix it all up and serve.  We ate it as a side dish to our grass-fed beef hamburgers…Mmm, mmm, good. 🙂WP_20140526_018

4 thoughts on “A Quick Summer Salad

    • I love them too; they have a certain sweetness about them! My six year old was so excited when I bought them. She loves carrots and all things rainbow….so, naturally, it was the best of both worlds. 🙂

Leave a comment